The Belgian Monk, Norwich

IMG_4944

The Belgian Monk, Pottergate, Norwich

The final pub on our Norfolk holiday was the Belgian Monk on Pottergate in the centre of Norwich.  It is a real gem in amongst the cobbled streets.  Serving only beer from the continent and with a food menu very much themed around the lowlands – oh, how I wish I liked ‘moules frites’ sometimes! The food was excellent and the beer even better, with the beer menu proudly stating that they imported some of their own beer to bring in some flavours not normally found in the UK. First up for us, were the Augustijn bruin and Bosbier.


IMG_4932

Good beer, good presentation

Due to my usual state of vaguely organised chaos I haven’t kept tasting notes.  I remember the Bosbier being a blueberry pils rather than a lambic, very refreshing with the Augustijn being more chocolatey and perfect with my wild boar sausage sandwich.  As the rain encroached on our al fresco drinking we moved inside for a second bottle this time opting for similar but slightly different – a Ciney Bruin for me and Ruth opting for the more traditional Belgian fruit beer, a frambozen/framboise – raspberry lambic.

The bar at the Belgian Monk

The busy bar at the Belgian Monk

A top bar. If I ever return to Norwich, somewhere I will seek out again.

Date of visit

Leave a Reply

