The Lobster, Sheringham


The Lobster, Sheringham

The Lobster, Sheringham

I often think when I am writing these posts whether I should give a score.  I try to be vaguely objective, but most of the time I am positive.  The Lobster, architecturally is a gem.  A proper pub, divided into several rooms and with a ton of trinkets to boot. There are even maps on the ceiling. Sadly, that is about as good as it gets.


The lounge inside the Lobster, Sheringham

The lounge inside the Lobster, Sheringham

So now for a negative bit. Beer wise, I opted for ‘reedcutter’ from the Humpty Dumpty brewery.  Flat and uninspiring.  Our visit was on a Wednesday, by which time one would hope the weekend’s dregs had been drunk and there was a fresh midweek cask on offer.  Sadly, based on the condition of the reedcutter, I suspect not. And then there was the food.


Biscuit burger

Biscuit burger

This was Ruth’s choice.  The 4oz (113g) burger was pretty much a biscuit. Chips OK, but salad rather over dressed. I’d opted for Wild Boar sausages with mash and at around £13 I was expecting something better.  3 rather small ‘cocktail’ sausages with mash, peas and gravy. The red wine gravy was tasty, but again the sausages were overcooked as if the chef was scared of food poisoning. I don’t really count myself as a foodie (I’m far to picky and have lived with electric cookers for too long – it has eroded most of my interest in cooking anything too interesting) – still this did disappoint me a lot.

Overall, even the best pubs can have off days so I would give probably try again (if I was in Sheringham, anyway) – on a Saturday when the beer has turned over it would probably be fine, but I’d eyeball the other diners food well before thinking about eating.

Coming full circle then, a score? I’ll sit on the fence a bit and give 2/5. Plenty of potential just not particularly well executed on our visit.

Date of visit: 08/09/2010

Leave a Reply

